We Provide 24-Hour, Statewide Service
(661) 326-0608

Tag: nearest bail agents around me (Page 1 of 25)

Can You Leave Your Child Unattended In The Car?

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

We made it through our first big heat wave, so you can rejoice about that. Unfortunately, this is only the beginning and you should brace yourself. You can count on there being more scorching days this summer. Remember to stay extra hydrated by drinking plenty of water and to put on sunblock when you spend any time outside. When you are driving someone in your car, especially your own young children, remember to open windows or turn the AC on. If you have to make a stop, do not leave them in the car alone. Not only is this illegal depending on the child’s age, it is also very dangerous in hot weather.

Vehicles heat up within minutes on hot days. If you think the weather outside is bad, the temperature inside the car is even worse. If you have a young child with you and you need to make a pit stop, bring them with you.

It is illegal to leave a child who is 6 years old or younger unattended in a car unless they are supervised by someone who is at least 12 years old.

However, even if your child is old enough to legally be left alone in the vehicle, you need to consider if they feel comfortable being left alone, the safety of the surrounding area, and how hot it is outside.

There are a number of consequences the driver can face for leaving their child unattended in a hot vehicle. These consequences include, but are not limited to, fines, jail time, being inspected by social services for child endangerment, and the loss of the child.

Whether it is over 100 degrees or 70 degrees, think of the safety of your child first. Although you may take a few minutes longer during your pit stop, taking them in with you is the safest and most responsible way to handle the situation.

Is Gambling Legal In California?

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

The world of American sports is electrifying. There is no shortage of sports to appeal to the crowd. There’s football, basketball, golf, swimming, cycling, sailing, and so many more options. If you really know sports, you know that there is always some major sporting event happening. This means that there are plenty of opportunities to try and make the events a little more eventful by placing bets.

There are rules and regulations that Californians must follow when it comes to betting on sporting events, including the following:

  • It is legal to place bets.
  • It is illegal to take a bet or be a bookie.
  • It is illegal for an athlete and a bettor to conspire, where the athlete will intentionally rig or throw a game in order for the bettor to win. People who do this can face prison time and a fine of up to $5,000.
  • Refs, umpires, and other in-game officials are not allowed to take bribes. Both the person who offers the bribe and the official can be put into jail and pay a $10,000 fine.

Forms of legal gambling in California include the lottery, gambling on horse races, and going to Indian/Native American casinos. Other casinos are now allowed in California, but Native American ones are permitted because they are built on sovereign Native American land. Card tables and slot machines can be found in these casinos, and anyone who is of legal age to gamble, is allowed to do so inside these casinos. A word of caution: although the minimum age to gamble is 18, many Native American casinos actually require patrons to be at least 21 to enter the premises because they serve alcohol.

Finding Parking In Los Angeles Could Get Worse

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

A parkway refers to the narrow strip of land that occupies the space between sidewalks and the curb. Parkways run parallel to the street and sidewalk and are landscaped, although many do not appear so because people have parked their cars on these areas over the years. In Los Angeles, officials have turned a blind eye to drivers who park their cars on parkways, but that may soon change.

Finding parking is a challenge in any major metropolis, and Los Angeles is no exception. In neighborhoods that are densely populated, residents slowly started to leave their vehicles in these parkway areas. Realizing they were never getting ticketed or towed, they continued to claim these as regular parking spots, and others in the area started to catch on to this trend. What they did not know was that the city actually agreed to be lenient on these individuals back in 2011, but they never made a formal announcement. Angelenos figured it out for themselves.

A few weeks ago, the Los Angeles transportation committee proposed a law that would make parkway parking illegal once again. In fact, the proposed law even says that standing or stopping on the parkway would also be illegal.

Should the proposed law be approved, the city would first implement a grace period. During this time they would reach out to residents to warn them to stop parking in these locations because starting mid-August, they would begin issuing tickets and citations once again.

Even if the law passes, drivers will still be able to park on their own driveway apron, which is the paved section from the curb up to the driveway as long as their vehicle does not block the street or the sidewalk.

Soon, Marijuana May Be Smoked At Fairgrounds

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

It has been over half a year since Californians voted to legalize marijuana for the state. However, in the public eye, it seems like there has been no change in the ability, freedom, and ease of growing, using, selling, and purchasing it. This is because the state first needs to lay out all the regulations, and they have until January 1, 2018 to do this. Since the November election, bills have been moving through legislation so the state is certainly working to meet their deadline. One bill that just passed the Senate is Assembly Bill 110.

Assembly Bill 110 mentions the use of marijuana at select local and state fairgrounds. This would mean California could have dedicated weed festivals that essentially act like a music festival, except instead of purchasing a ticket to listen to music, people would purchase tickets to legally buy marijuana and smoke it at one collective location with others who are there to enjoy the same thing.

Privately-owned venues such as the Pomona Fairplex would be exempt from the bill.

Supporters like this because it is a way for people to gather and smoke marijuana legally, safely, and away from the public who would rather not inhale or smell marijuana. Nonetheless, there are people who are not too thrilled about the idea of marijuana festivals and the bill.

Assembly Bill 110 is not yet 100% passed, as it still must get approvals from other government departments.

As we wait to hear more on that, we can look at what we do know will regulate legalized marijuana:

  • Penalties for most marijuana related offenses will be reduced from felonies to misdemeanors, and prior offenders can file to have their record changed to reflect this.
  • Driving while smoking marijuana will be a DUI, as it has always been.
  • Marijuana must be in a closed container when being transported.
  • Anyone 21 and over may possess and use up to 1 ounce of marijuana.
  • Anyone 21 and over may grow up to 6 marijuana plants in their home.
  • Just like cigarettes cannot be smoked in public places such as restaurants, marijuana cannot be either.

These are just a handful of rules that are in effect now or will be put into effect soon. The state has many more complex regulations to get through, and we will learn them all by January 1, 2018.

There Is No Minimum Age To Get Married In California

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

Most people get married when they are adults and are more financially stable. However, there are some people who get married at a younger age, like when they are in college or in their mid-twenties. There are even people who choose to get married when they are in high school, or younger! As shocking as it can be to imagine yourself being married at such a young age, it is not illegal in California.

Most states have a minimum age requirement to get hitched, but California does not. Anyone in California can get married at any age, although anyone under the age of 18 would need to:

  • Get parental consent
  • Get a court order
  • See a pre-marriage counselor
  • Have copies of their birth certificate
  • Apply for a marriage license with a parent present
  • Appear before a judge

One of the main reasons California chose not to enforce a minimum age to get married is because it allows pregnant minors to marry, if they so wish. Needing parental and court consent helps regulate the idea of marriage so that no one is being forced or tricked into an unhealthy and abusive marriage. For example, a man cannot force the teen he got pregnant into marriage unless her parents and the court give their consent. If he is also under 18, he would need parental consent as well. Furthermore, a mother cannot force her pregnant teenage daughter to marry the father of the baby if the girl’s father does not consent. There are multiple points of protections in this manner. However, if all parties are happy with their relationships with each other and it is a healthy relationship between the two minors, they can get married as long as their parents and the court give them permission.

Any man or woman who is at least 18 years of age would not need parental consent to get married.

Wacky Laws That Actually Exist

Tulare Bail Bonds

Tulare Bail Bonds

Do you ever see something and wonder how it could have possibly come into existence? This is especially true with some laws. There are many strange laws out there. Many of them make you wonder what could have happened to make it necessary to create a law that prevents it from happening again.

California is a pretty big state, the 3rd biggest in the US. As such, our state is home to many strange and puzzling laws. Here is just a small sample of the weirdness that our state has to offer:

  • Roosters may not crow within Ontario city limits.
  • It is illegal to molest butterflies in Pacific Grove.
  • No person can charge admission to house parties in Los Angeles.
  • It is illegal to hunt moths under a Los Angeles street light.
  • Kites may not be flown higher than 10 feet off the ground in Walnut.
  • It is illegal to have more than 2 cats or dogs in San Jose.
  • It is against the law to bowl on a sidewalk in Chico.
  • El Monte sandboxes may not be used as ashtrays.

That is just the tip of the iceberg of bizarre laws in California. There are dozen more laws out there that would make most people scratch there head in confusion. Some laws cause confusion due to the restrictions that they impose, while others just have poor wording that gives the law an entirely different meaning than what was probably intended. Case and point, the Belvedere law that reads: No dog shall be in a public place without its master on a leash. The way this is written, it sounds like the dog owner needs to be on the leash, not the dog.

While our state may have many strange and obscure laws, we can take solace in the fact that California is not the only weird state out there. Many other state in the country have equally bizarre laws. Like Oklahoma for instance, which has outlawed whaling. That sounds great, until you realize whaling isn’t something that can actually be done in the land locked state.

Regardless of why these laws exist, most people can agree that they are pretty weird. In some instances, it may be time to reevaluate the laws. Until that time, we can all have a good laugh at these wacky laws that actually exist.

California’s Open Container Laws

Swall Bail Bonds

Swall Bail Bonds

In California, driving under the influence is not the only illegal alcohol and vehicle act, but it is the most known. It carries the most serious penalties. It is also very much worth knowing other alcohol and driving related laws, especially the “open container” laws for California.

For drivers who are 21 years or older, it is legal to drive a vehicle with an unopened container of alcohol in the car, even if it is in the front seat.

An unopened container must be absolutely sealed, never opened. So, a sealed bottle of wine never uncorked, a sealed bottle of liquor with the cap never twisted off, and an unopened can of beer, are legal to have in the front seat of the car. Any alcoholic beverages that have been opened must be placed in the trunk of the car.

If a driver is caught with a bottle of liquor that has been opened but is currently closed at the time they are pulled over, and they prove they have not been drinking, they are still breaking the law. That opened bottle must be in the trunk. However, the police may let the driver go with a warning, rather than a ticket. It is their call. The best chance for a driver being let off with a warning is for him or her to remain polite and respectful, prove they are indeed sober, and promise not to let it happen again. If the driver is cited, he or she is given an infraction and will have to pay a fine of $250.

For drivers who are younger than 21, consequences are harsher. After all, the legal drinking age is 21. Underage individuals face misdemeanor criminal charges that include a $1,000 fine and up to 6 months in jail.

The easiest way to make sure you are transporting alcohol legally in your vehicle, is to simply put it in your trunk, even if the alcohol container is sealed. If your trunk is cluttered with clothes and bags, put that extra clutter in your backseat. A police officer is less likely to pull you over if they see a bunch of clothes in the backseat of your vehicle rather than bottles of alcohol.

What Is Jordan’s Law?

Loma Bail Bonds

Loma Bail Bonds

Seeing a video of any sort of crime or attack on the internet is happening more and more frequently. Most of the times, the video was taken without the wrongdoer’s knowing. The video will gain popularity if it depicts the wrongdoer messing up in some hilarious way.

The other portion of crime related videos going around are not as entertaining to most people. Some attention seekers decide to gain internet fame by creating their own video. Often times, these videos are far more sinister in nature. These wrongdoers decide to create a video of them attacking a random person. This can leave the victim in serious or even life threatening conditions.

This was the case was last December when 14 year old Jordan Peisner was attacked and beaten by random teen he’d never met. The incident was recorded by an accomplice of the attacker, who then posted the recording to Snapchat. A civil lawsuit alleged that the teenager who recorded the incident and posted it, did so, so that the group of friend could gain fame and notoriety online.

Assembly bill 1542, nicknamed Jordan’s Law, looks to change how this sort of event is handled.

Jordan’s Law seeks to increase the punishment for anyone who films their attack of someone or any other crime for the purpose of gaining online fame by adding a one year enhancement to the punishment.

It also states that anyone assisting the attacker in the filming of the attack will be held equally liable. The bill does not affect people who film random crimes.

Who Determines Bail Prices?

Goshen Bail Bonds

Goshen Bail Bonds

Everyone grasps the concept that bail is expensive. While bail bonds can greatly reduce the cost, they still tend to cost a couple thousand dollars. This is the kind of money that most people do not have lying around, waiting to be spent. It makes you wonder, if everyone knows bail is super expensive, why is it set so high? Who controls what a person’s bail is set at anyways?

Here in the United States, the 8th amendment to the Constitution protects us from excessive bail.

Unfortunately for many people, today’s bail prices feel very excessive. However, there is a reason behind the high bail prices. Bail is meant to be used as incentive for a defendant to return to court for his or her trial. If the defendant behaves and makes it to all of his or her court appearances, then the bail money will be returned to him or her. So, the defendant should get the money back, but they would need the money to begin with. Most people don’t have that kind of cash.

That explains why bail is so expensive, but who gets to actually determine the price of the bail? In California, bail varies from county to county. Each county creates what is called a bail schedule. This is a list of every possible crime and what the bail should be for that crime. Judges are allowed to adjust the bail amount depending on the person who has been accused of the crime.

Some people think that bail bond companies have some say in the pricing of bail and bail bonds. Those people would be incorrect. In California, bail bond companies have to charge 10% the price of the bail they are paying for. Some companies are allowed to lower that price slightly if the defendant or a co-signer meet certain requirements. However, most companies have their hands tied when it comes to pricing.

In the end, the price of the bail and subsequent bail bond are decided by the case’s judge and the county officials in charge of the bail schedule.

Good bail bond companies, like Goshen Bail Bond Store, can make bail bonds affordable for their clients by creating personalized payment plans for their clients. This reduces the up-front cost of the bail bond without changing the price. Another way Goshen Bail Bond Store lowers the cost of the bail bond is by offering discounts to union members, members of the military, members of AARP, homeowners, and defendants with private attorneys.

At Goshen Bail Bond Store, we do our very best to make bail bonds as affordable as possible for our clients. You can learn more by calling 661-326-0608 to get your FREE consultation. We are open 24/7 (including holidays), so feel free to call us at anytime.

About California’s Proposed “Jordan’s Law”

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

It is the digital age. This is a time when we rely on our cell phones and laptops to survive and get through each day. We live on social media to connect with friends, get invited to parties, and keep up to date on the latest news. If you ask older generations, who did not grow up with computers and the internet, they will say that our younger generations today are too attached to our digital devices, and they might be right in certain regards.

As useful, informational, and entertaining as the internet can be, it can also be cruel, whether it was ill-intended or not. Cyberbullying is a big issue. Whether the intention was there to put a person down or it was just a poorly thought out prank, the bullying hurts the person it was directed at. You never know what can result from a mean message online. The bullied person can inflict harm on themselves or others in revenge.

Recently, the California Assembly passed “Jordan’s Law”, named after a 14-year-old Jordan Peisner who was sucker-punched by a teenager he did not know. The incident was caught on a cell phone and posted on social media. The goal for Jordan’s Law is to punish the person or persons who conspire to record attacks. People who conspire to record attacks differ from innocent bystanders who record footage of an incident they are witnessing. Jordan’s Law would also increase the penalty for the actual attacker as well.

Now that the California Assembly has passed Jordan’s Law, it heads to the California Senate for debate.

Page 1 of 25

Copyright © 2020 David Ortiz Bail Bonds. License # 1841120 | All Rights Reserved.

At David Ortiz Bail Bonds, we do everything to make your bail experience as hassle-free as possible. David Ortiz Bail Bonds offers complete bail-bonding services along with numerous benefits.