We Provide 24-Hour, Statewide Service
(661) 326-0608

Tag: visalia bonds (Page 1 of 16)

About California’s Proposed “Jordan’s Law”

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

It is the digital age. This is a time when we rely on our cell phones and laptops to survive and get through each day. We live on social media to connect with friends, get invited to parties, and keep up to date on the latest news. If you ask older generations, who did not grow up with computers and the internet, they will say that our younger generations today are too attached to our digital devices, and they might be right in certain regards.

As useful, informational, and entertaining as the internet can be, it can also be cruel, whether it was ill-intended or not. Cyberbullying is a big issue. Whether the intention was there to put a person down or it was just a poorly thought out prank, the bullying hurts the person it was directed at. You never know what can result from a mean message online. The bullied person can inflict harm on themselves or others in revenge.

Recently, the California Assembly passed “Jordan’s Law”, named after a 14-year-old Jordan Peisner who was sucker-punched by a teenager he did not know. The incident was caught on a cell phone and posted on social media. The goal for Jordan’s Law is to punish the person or persons who conspire to record attacks. People who conspire to record attacks differ from innocent bystanders who record footage of an incident they are witnessing. Jordan’s Law would also increase the penalty for the actual attacker as well.

Now that the California Assembly has passed Jordan’s Law, it heads to the California Senate for debate.

Extending California’s Last Call From 2AM To 4AM

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

Just the other week it was announced that…

the Senate passed a bill to extend last call for alcohol service from 2:00 AM to 4:00 AM.

Now the bill is heading to the Assembly for consideration. One of the main pushes for the bill is its impact on the state’s nightlife culture and economy. By offering an extended last call, nightlife like the music industry can flourish even more.

At the moment, bars, clubs, and other venues cannot extend their last call, since the bill still needs approvals from other parties. However, if and when it is passed by all necessary parties, it gives venues the option to extend last call until 4:00 AM. Venues will not be required to do so if they do not wish to. In addition, the bill would give each community the authority to decide if they would want to extend last call.

Most states have a 1:00 AM or 2:00 AM last call. By extending last call to 4:00 AM, California would join New York as the only states to have a last call at this hour. However, some states have an even later last call or none at all! In Alaska, venues are allowed to serve alcohol until 5:30 AM and in Nevada and Louisiana, alcohol can be served 24 hours a day.

To many, a 4:00 AM last call sounds like every night can be quite the party. However, it takes a little bit more responsibility in order for Californians to not abuse an extended last call. You would not want to be that person who ruins extended last call, would you? If and when the bill gets passed and formally goes into effect, remember that you must not get behind the wheel. Just like you would call a Lyft at 2:00 AM, call a Lyft at 4:00 AM and avoid running the risk of getting into an accident or arrested for a DUI.

Odd Alcohol Laws In California

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

Compared to other states, California is pretty generous when it comes to alcohol. You can buy it at practically any grocery, liquor and convenience store. You can even buy it at retailers like Target and Walmart. You can buy it at nearly any hour of the day, even on Sundays. Soon, last call could be extended from 2am to 4am. In other states, alcohol is not sold at all these types of stores and sales may be prohibited on Sundays. This does not mean Californians turn the other cheek when it comes to alcohol consumption. This state still has plenty of laws that are meant to encourage safe and responsible drinking and curb DUIs. In fact, California even has some very particular alcohol laws.

  • For stores that sell both fuel and alcohol, the alcohol must be displayed at least 5 feet from the cash register.
  • Homebrewers and winemakers may produce only 100 gallons of product per year. If the household has 2 or more adults, the product allowance per year increases to 200 gallons.
  • Restaurant servers can be cited if they fail to check for proper identification when a patron wants an alcoholic drink. The restaurant owners can get in trouble, but so can the server.
  • If you have a beer growler and would like it filled with a beer other than the one that is labeled on the growler, then that old existing label must be covered with a new one that includes the brewery and the name of the beer.
  • Wherever alcohol is sold, employees are barred from wearing clothes that expose the cleft of the buttocks, any portion of pubic hair, and any portion of the female breast below the top of the areola.
  • Anyone driving into California from Mexico can bring up to 1 liter of alcohol duty-free with them.

A final interesting tidbit regarding alcohol and California is that most stores in California will not accept alcohol returns. This however, is not an official state law, but your chances of finding a store that will refund your alcohol purchase are slim.

Knowing Weird Laws Can Be A Benefit

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

Who knew?

In California, women may not drive in a housecoat or that no vehicle without a driver may exceed 60 miles per hour? We are not pulling your leg. These are real laws that are still written in California’s law books. They are not the only weird, odd, peculiar laws this state still has today. In addition to those,

  • It is illegal to spit in Burlingame, unless you are on a baseball diamond.
  • Women may not wear high heels in Carmel.
  • Pinball machines are outlawed in El Monte.
  • Any man who has a mustache in Eureka is forbidden to kiss a woman, even if she is his girlfriend or wife.
  • Anyone who wishes to purchase a wax container must be at least 18 years of age.
  • In Hollywood, no one may drive over 2,000 sheep down Hollywood Boulevard.
  • It is illegal to drink intoxicating cement in Indian Wells.
  • Moth hunting is illegal in Los Angeles when done under a street light.
  • In Norco, having a rhinoceros as a pet is allowed as long as the owner gets a $100 license first.
  • Molesting butterflies is strictly prohibited in Pacific Grove.
  • Dogs are not allowed to chase squirrels in the summer.
  • Unless they do not mind being fined $250, San Diegans must take their Christmas lights down by February 2.
  • People who are classified as “ugly” may not walk down the streets of San Francisco.
  • Having more than two cats or dogs as pets is not allowed in San Jose.
  • In Walnut, every child must get a special permit from the sheriff in order to wear a mask on Halloween.

If you search the internet, you will find so many more weird laws that still exist in California and will leave you scratching your head. In fact, every state in the U.S. has their share of odd laws and it is pretty entertaining to read.

We hope you never get arrested for violating one of these wacky laws but if you do, call David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia anytime. We will look past your embarrassment and bail you out of jail as soon as possible. We can be reached online, and at 661-326-0608.

Get Charged With “Hit and Run” Even If It’s Not Your Fault

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

In California, you can be charged with a hit and run even if the accident was not your fault. If you are involved in an accident, you are required to give your contact information to the other driver before you leave, regardless if the accident was your fault or not.

You can be charged with a misdemeanor if you caused damage, not just to another vehicle but also to property, like a building, a window, a fence, or even another person’s pet.

You can be charged with a felony hit and run if you leave the scene without providing any contact information even though you know that the other driver and his or her passengers were unhurt.

The penalties for hit and run crimes will vary based on the extent of the accident and damage, and even the kindness of the other driver. Fines for hit and runs where someone was injured can be between as much as $20,000 and prison sentences can be as long as 4 years. For hit and run crimes, that only involved property damage, fines can be as high as $1,000 and jail time can be as long as 6 months. In addition, a person would likely get their license suspended or revoked for up to 6 months. As for the insurance company, they can either increase the premiums or cancel insurance altogether.

Some misdemeanor charges can be settled in a civil suit instead of criminal punishment, if the other driver agrees to it. In this case, the other driver is sparing you from the harsher punishments like jail time.

If you are ever involved in a car accident, make sure to stay on the scene and exchange contact and insurance information with the others who are involved. If there are witnesses around, get their contact information as well, in case you need them to provide eyewitness accounts. Take photos of any damage done to your vehicle, the other vehicle, and any property. Then, you can contact your insurance company and let them know you have been involved in a car accident. You want to go through the standard steps of resolving a car accident rather than fleeing the scene and suddenly making this into a felony hit and run.

Though you will need to take the next few weeks to deal with insurance companies and getting your car repaired, it is the better alternative to becoming a wanted person for a hit and run and then paying those felony consequences.

What Happens If I Cannot Pay For Bail?

Visalia Bail Bonds

Visalia Bail Bonds

If you are arrested and granted bail, it means you have the chance to be released from jail as long as you pay a certain amount of money. We are not going to lie, this bail is more than likely going to be very expensive. However, if you do not pay it, you will remain in jail until trial.

We are not trying to scare you at all. We are simply showing you the reality of the situation and enlightening you about a way that makes paying for a bail more affordable: bail bonds.

Bail bonds are one way to pay for bail and in fact, they are the most common way. Here is why:

  • They cost 10% of the full bail amount.
  • You will be set up on a customized payment plan.
  • A professional bail agent who understands the industry will be with you through the whole process.

If you are worried about bail, please consult Visalia Bail Bond Store. We promise to help you settle your worries and get you an affordable bail bond with an ideal payment plan. Consultations are FREE, so utilize your bail agent; if you are confused on something, ask about it. While you’re at it, ask about discounts and cheap bail bonds we offer. Your bail agent is on your side. Even if you are not sure about something, we encourage you to reach out to Visalia Bail Bond Store either online, or at 661-326-0608.

For reliable 24/7 bail bond service, call Visalia Bail Bond Store at 661-326-0608 or Chat With Us now.

How Much Will Bail Cost?

Visalia Bail Bonds

Visalia Bail Bonds

The moment you learn that your loved one has been arrested, one of the first thoughts that starts running through your mind is, “how much is this going to cost?” There is the cost of a lawyer, the cost of bail. Depending on why her or she was arrested, there will also be the cost of fees/fines for property damages, hospital bills, insurance going up, and not to mention, the time he or she is losing at work.

The first cost that you need to worry about is the cost of bail. Bail is the money the defendant owes to court in order to be released from jail. This is perhaps one of the most important figures to meet, as posting bail and being released from jail means he or she can return to work as well as get prep time with his or her lawyer.

The amount for bail will be dependent on what crime your loved one has been accused of, whether or not he or she has a criminal history, and a few other main factors. Generally, the more serious the crime, the higher the bail. The best way to pay the least amount for bail is to hire a professional bail agent. He or she will produce a bail bond, which will cost 10% of the bail, and will be paid off in installments. In the end, the 10% is not refundable since it is payment for the bail agent’s services, but after having a FREE consultation with Visalia Bail Bond Store, one of the best bail bond company in California, you will see why a bail bond is a better fit for you.

Get all of your bail bond related questions answered with us! Reach us 24/7 online or at 661-326-0608. Speak with one of our friendly bail agents and do not hesitate to ask about discounts and cheap bail bonds we offer along with your other inquiries. They will be more than happy to assist you.

For a FREE consultation with a reliable bail agent, call Visalia Bail Bond Store at 661-326-0608 or Chat With Us now.

To Be Mirandized

Visalia Bail Bonds

Visalia Bail Bonds

When someone is Mirandized, it means that they have been arrested and given their Miranda Rights. We are sure you have heard of Miranda Rights at least once or twice on television. They go along the lines of: “You have the right to remain silent. Anything you say, can and will be used against you in a court of law. You have the right to an attorney. If you cannot afford one, one will be appointed to you. Do you understand these rights as I have read them to you?”

At that point, the arrestee must answer with a verbal yes or no.

The purpose of this is to remind arrested individuals of these very protective rights that they should use to their benefit. These are their rights, so they are not taken advantage of by investigators.

Before the Miranda Rights were ever in place, defendants didn’t know that some things they said would be used against them, or they didn’t know they could get a lawyer. Some investigators were pretty harsh on their suspects, mentally torturing them until the suspect confessed to the crime called a coerced confession, and in some instances, it was a false confession. These were incredible violations, and thus, the Miranda Rights were introduced.

Every person who is ever arrested must be read their Miranda Rights, even if they already know them. If the arresting officer fails to read these rights to the defendant, he or she can use this to his or her advantage.

If someone you know has been arrested and has gone through this stage already, and you are looking to help bail him or her out of jail, please contact Visalia Bail Bond Store. We will help you help your loved one get out of jail with a bail bond. Talk to one of our helpful bail agents and get your FREE consultation to learn more about our services. Feel free to inquire about our zero down bail bonds and discounts we offer to see if you qualify. We can be reached 24/7 online, and at 661-326-0608.

To learn more about services we offer, call Visalia Bail Bond Store at 661-326-0608 or Chat With Us now. Consultation is FREE!

There Is No Stronger Support System Than Family And Visalia Bail Bond Store

Visalia Bail Bonds

Visalia Bail Bonds

Visalia Bail Bond Store provides the best care for all of our current, former, and future clients when it comes to getting a person out of a California jail with a bail bond. When it comes to this, some companies could not care less about your quality of happiness and satisfaction, as long as they get paid. However, Visalia Bail Bond Store goes beyond that.

Family owned-and-operated since our founding 29 years ago, Visalia Bail Bond Store is the bail bond team that you want on your side, and it’s one that you can afford. Do not worry about your financial situation. When you get your FREE consultation with Visalia Bail Bond Store, they will work with you to create payment plan that fits your needs and abilities. This company is all about being available, affordable, and accessible to anyone who needs a bail bond.

If and when you commit to using Visalia Bail Bond Store, your bail agent will be with you through the whole process to support you and make sure it goes as smoothly as possible. Ask your designated bail agent about our no down payment bail bonds and discounts we offer. You will have the entire team of this fine bail bond company rooting for you and your family. On top of that, you can be sure you have the company’s other clients rooting for you too. They are in a similar situation as you. They want your family to come out of this united and strong.

Visalia Bail Bond Store is the support system you need when you need to bail your loved one out of jail. Again, consultations are FREE, so call us anytime at 661-326-0608 or Chat With Us online. We are open 24/7, including holidays. Call us today!

Bail help is only a phone call away at Visalia Bail Bond Store, call 661-326-0608 or Chat With Us now.

What To Expect When You Are Arrested For A DUI For The First Time

Visalia Bail Bonds

Visalia Bail Bonds

DUI arrests happen a little too often around you. You can’t count the number of people you know who have been arrested for a DUI with your hands. Knowing what they each had to deal with makes you wonder what the charges are for someone who faces a DUI for the first time here in California.

For a first offense, where there was no injury or death, the defendant faces fines, a license suspension then license restrictions, and an alcohol-treatment program. Consequences also depend on what BAC you had at the time of arrest. The higher it was, the more fines you may have to pay and the longer you may have to wait to get your license back.

Repeat offenders face even harsher consequences and even jail or prison time.

Getting arrested for a DUI is a bad look, but it does not have to ruin your reputation for good. Visalia Bail Bond Store can help you get out of jail and back to your feet to do some damage control. We offer affordable bail bonds for anyone who needs one. Please contact us online or at 661-326-0608. Talk to one of our knowledgeable bail agents for a FREE consultation and get answers to your bail-related questions. Ask about our zero down bail bonds and discounts we offer as well. Feel free to contact us anytime, we are open 24/7 for your convenience.

Call Visalia Bail Bond Store at 661-326-0608 and get your FREE consultation or Chat With Us now.

Page 1 of 16

Copyright © 2018 David Ortiz Bail Bonds. License # 1841120 | All Rights Reserved.

At David Ortiz Bail Bonds, we do everything to make your bail experience as hassle-free as possible. David Ortiz Bail Bonds offers complete bail-bonding services along with numerous benefits.