We Provide 24-Hour, Statewide Service
(661) 326-0608

Category: Midvalley Bail Bonds (Page 1 of 51)

California’s Good Samaritan Law And Pets

Good Samaritan Law

Good Samaritan Law

In California, we love our pets as much as we love our brothers and sisters, which is why we have a Good Samaritan law.

Good Samaritan Law makes it legal to smash a car window to save a child or an animal. This law has been in effect for almost a year and it is designed to protect the individual who smashed the car window from criminal charges. In order to be fully protected, the individual must remain present after smashing the window until the police arrive.

Everyone knows that a hot car is a dangerous weapon. If it is hot outside, the car is even hotter inside and the car heats up very quickly too. Even 5 minutes inside a hot car can be deadly. For example, in 2016, on a 91 degree day in San Diego, firefighters rescued a dog from a car that was found to be 160 degrees on the inside. How did they know the inside temperature? By using their thermal imaging camera.

Many other states have similar Good Samaritan laws and some even extend their legislation to protect individuals from smashing car windows to save a human life.

California does not currently have such a law, but any citizens who see a young child or even a pet left alone in a hot car are encouraged to call security or the police.

It is important to remember that for the individual breaking a car window, they must stay on the scene to talk to the police. If they flee, they may lose their protection in the matter and can be charged with vandalism.

Is The Convenience Worth The Risk?

Leaving Child Unattended In Car

Leaving Your Child Unattended In The Car

Leaving Child Unattended In Car

Do you choose convenience over safety and responsibility, or the other way around? For example, when you have your 4 year old child with you and you need to run into the store to pick up toilet paper on the way home, would you consider leaving your child alone in the parked car? You’d only run into the store for 5 minutes. You are thinking that if you have to bring them, you would certainly be slowed down because they can get fussy.

If you do consider the more convenient idea of leaving your child alone in the car for a few minutes, you should think again. Not only is this an irresponsible decision, it is also an illegal one.

In California, it is illegal to leave a child 6 years old or younger in the car unattended unless they are supervised by someone who is at least 12 years old.

Moreover, even if your child is old enough by law to be left alone in the car, do you think they are ready, responsible, and mature enough? Can they be trusted not to open the door if a stranger approaches, or not to just get out and wander on their own? Are they nervous about being left alone, because they have not had that experience before?

Another factor to take into consideration is the weather outside. If it is hot outside, then the inside of the car can be deadly. The interior of a car can heat up rapidly. Young children can die if they are left in a hot car.

The same rules apply to leaving pets alone in a car as well. If the store does not allow you to bring your pet inside while you shop, you need to leave them in the car. If it is hot outside, open some windows or better yet, if possible, tie them to a meter, bike rack, or something outside that offers plenty of shade.

There are penalties for parents who leave their child unattended in the car, which include a fine and time in jail. Plus, there is the possibility that your child could be harmed. That is the worst one of all. So next time, skip the convenience and go with the safe, responsible decision. Even if it is less convenient and time efficient for you. Instead of leaving your child in the car, bring them with you or take them home first.

Laws You Probably Did Not Know You Were Breaking

Laws You Did Not Know You Were Breaking

Laws You Did Not Know You Were Breaking

“It is not every day that you break a law,” you think to yourself. Little do you know that statement might actually be false. It could very well be that you are breaking some law everyday and you do not even realize it. It is not just you, a lot of people are breaking a handful of laws everyday without even knowing.


Here are some of those laws:

    Letting Someone Else Use Your Netflix Account
    Last year, it was made official that it is illegal to share your password to streaming sites like Netflix and Hulu. Before it became a law, everyone knew that technically sharing your account with any number of friends or family is wrong. You can have 5 friends use your account yet you are only paying the low rate. Now it is officially illegal to share your password; did you know that?

    Connecting To Unsecured Wi-Fi
    Have you ever sat nearby a coffee shop and connected to their Wi-Fi because they do not have it password protected? Have you ever done this and not ordered anything from the store? Well, this is illegal and if you are caught and charged, you can be put into jail. Wait until you get home to check your social media feed.

    Giving A Fake Name On The Internet
    Have you ever signed up for newsletters, deals, and subscriptions but did not provide your real name? Well, providing a fake name on the internet is illegal under the Computer Fraud and Abuse Act.

    Singing “Happy Birthday”
    It is not a birthday unless someone sings the Happy Birthday song. Is it still a party when the police show up? Technically, the Happy Birthday song is copyrighted, meaning that anyone who sings it in public is violating the law. At least that was the law until a few years ago, when a U.S. District Judge decided that was not the case and declared it public domain for all.

If you are worrying now because you have broken these laws countless times and you think you can no longer sing anyone “Happy Birthday,” do not panic. You are not the only one. Besides, how many times have you gotten away with singing Happy Birthday now?

If you find yourself actually getting arrested for violating one of these laws or any other law, do not worry. Swall Bail Bond Store is here to bail you out of jail. Feel free to contact us 24/7 online or by phone at 661-326-0608. Consultation is always FREE, so you have nothing to lose.

Is Your Car Ready For Summer?

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

No one wants to get stranded on the side of the road because their car broke down. This is especially true when things start to warm up in summer. Being stranded during the heat of summer can be truly miserable. That is why it is important to take care of your vehicle and make sure that it is in prime condition.

Here are some things that you should check on your vehicle to ensure it gets you where you need to go.

  • CHECK COOLANT LEVELS IN YOUR RADIATOR
    Your radiator is what keeps your engine from overheating while it is running. However, it cannot do this if there is not enough coolant in it. Be sure you have enough coolant in the system, and that there are no leaks or other types of damage to the cooling system.
  • EXAMINE YOUR TIRES
    Your tires face a lot of wear and tear on a daily basis. This can get worse in the summer as roads heat up. Make sure your vehicles tires are still in good condition or look into getting them replaced. Also, be sure to check their air pressure. Every vehicle is designed to have tires with a certain size and air pressure. If your tires are over or under inflated, it can affect your gas mileage.
  • CHECK THE OIL
    Your vehicle has oil in both the engine and transmission. This oil helps them keep cool and run smoothly. If there is no oil, then metal scraps against metal and can cause costly damage. Frequently checking the oil levels in both can help keep your vehicle running for a long time.
  • EXAMINE YOUR WINDSHIELD WIPERS
    The summer sun can be rough on your vehicles rubber wiper blades. You may not need them much in the summer, but every once in a while, a storm rolls through. Getting caught in the rain with bad wiper blades can be a real hassle and can even be dangerous if you cannot see. Be sure that your blades have not dried out or separated from their frame.
  • CHECK YOUR AC
    Driving without air conditioning can be truly miserable in summer. If your AC does not blow cold air, be sure to take it to your local mechanic. You probably need more refrigerant/freon in the system, which most mechanics can help you with.

If you do all of this, your vehicle should be able to get you where you need to go this summer. Just doing these quick little things now can prevent you from getting stranded on the side of the road in triple degree heat. Take care of your vehicle and it will take care of you this summer.

Is Driving While Hungover Ok?

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

Everyone knows that driving while drunk is a bad idea. When you are drunk, you have poor motor control and lack a sense of adequate risk assessment. Basically, you can’t control your actions well and you do things that you wouldn’t normally do while sober. It is easy to see why people should not be driving in this state of inebriation.

However, what many people do not realize is that driving while hungover can be just as bad. When a person is hungover, they may not have any more alcohol in their system, but they are experiencing other symptoms. People who are hungover are usually experiencing sleep deprivation, dehydration, and short-term alcohol withdrawal. The symptoms of all of these can make driving difficult and dangerous for the person.

A study conducted by researchers at Utrecht University in the Netherlands found that hungover drivers drove worse than drivers who had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.05%. The drivers exhibited erratic behavior and slowed reaction times. Similar results were found by a study conducted at the University of West England

If a person was out drinking the night before, he or she should think twice before getting behind the wheel the next morning. Doing so could be as disastrous as if he or she had driven the night before. After a night of drinking, a person should take it easy the next morning. Stay at home, rest, and get hydrated. Doing this will be much nicer than driving anyways and it will be safer too.

What Counts As Drug Possession?

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

With the passing of Prop 64, the topic of drug possession has become more prominent in recent months. While it is now legal for people 21 and older to possess some small amount of marijuana, this is the only drug that has been legalized. There are still rules and restrictions to its use.

Even though the recreational use of marijuana was legalized, many other drugs and substances remain illegal to use and possess. Some of these illegal substances are:

Drug Possession

  • Heroin
  • Cocaine
  • Meth
  • Ecstasy
  • LSD

Possessing any of these drugs can get a person in trouble with the law. Now you might be wondering what constitutes as possession in California?

Possession of a drug could be:

  • Having it on your possession
  • Having it in your glove box or anywhere else in your vehicle
  • Having it in your house

When it comes to punishment for illegal possession of controlled substances, things can vary. Illegal possession of most controlled substances is considered a misdemeanor offense in California, thanks to the recently passed Prop 47. This means that someone convicted of drug possession faces no more than a year in jail and/or a small fine. In many instances, the defendant will be required to participate in a drug treatment program.

How To Answer: Have You Been Drinking?

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

If you have never been pulled over for a DUI before, you may wonder how you should answer when asked if you have been drinking after having a drink or 2. As a United States citizen, you have the right against self-incrimination. This means that you do not have to answer that question.

However, that does not mean you have the right to lie to the officer or ignore his or her requests. If the officer asks for your license and registration, you should provide it. Lying, will only make things worse for you. The officer will be able to tell if you have had too much alcohol. If you admit to having two drinks when you really had 6, you will still be asked to take a field sobriety and a breathalyzer test. These tests will show how many drinks you truly had and will cause the officer to disregard anything you say from that point on.

Have You Been Drinking

If you choose to not answer the question, you can inform the officer that you would rather not say. You can also say that you would like to speak with your attorney. Asking to speak to your attorney cannot be used against you. Remaining silent does not mean you will be allowed to leave. Chances are, you will still need to take a field sobriety and a breathalyzer test. Remaining silent simply keeps you from admitting guilt or lying to the officer.

Your final option is to just be up front and honest with the officer. You cannot be legally arrested for drunk driving if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is under 0.08%. In this instance, if you have only recently had one or two drinks, you should be okay. This is even truer if there was an hour or more time between the 2 drinks. You may still have to take a field sobriety and breathalyzer test in this situation. However, there is a chance that the officer might deem that you are capable of driving and let you go on your way.

Ultimately, the best way to avoid this kind of situation is to have a plan ready when drinking will be involved. Either designate someone as the driver so that he or she will not drink, or get a ride from a taxi, Uber, or Lyft. This way, you will be safe and you will not have to worry about getting pulled over.

Tips For Avoiding The Heat

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

David Ortiz Bail Bonds in Visalia

Summer is finally here and temperatures are on the rise. Summer is a season for exploring and adventure. However, it is also a season of unbearable heat. It is why many people will find themselves hiding out in the shelter of their home, waiting for cooler temperatures.

If you are looking for ways to keep cool this summer, here are a few tips:

Tips For Avoiding The Heat

  • Wear light colored, loose fitting, cotton clothing. Cotton stay cooler than synthetic materials.
  • Stay hydrated by drinking lots of water or sports drinks with plenty of electrolytes.
  • Avoid alcohol and caffeine since these cause dehydration.
  • Avoid going outdoors during the middle of the day. Instead, go out during the morning or evening when it is cooler.
  • Use fans to circulate the air in your house and make it feel cooler.
  • Keep water bottles in the freezer and take one with you when you go outside. This way, you will have a cool drink with you as the ice melts.
  • Visit public places like a library, movie theater, or mall during the day. These places are usually kept cool during even the hottest of days.
  • Take frequent cold baths or showers to help keep your body cool.
  • Visit the local public pool or beach, just be sure to wear plenty of sunscreen.

Many of these things can be done together to help keep you cool during the hottest days summer has to offer. Just remember that it is okay to take it easy during the day. Know your limits and avoid overworking yourself. Nobody wants to end up in the hospital.

What To Do When Moving To A Different State

When Moving To A Different State Visalia

When Moving To A Different State Visalia

The rule is the same whenever a person moves to a different state. If a person decide to live in another state permanently, they will need to check in with the DMV to take care of a few changes, like driver’s license and car registration. If they do not do this, they risk being cited by the police if and when they are caught.

If you have a friend or a family member moving to California permanently, they will need to get their license or identification card updated with a new local address within 10 days of moving. If there is a teenager who currently has a driver’s permit, this will also need to be updated. It is a good idea for your loved one to get familiarized with our driving and safety laws, because not all driving laws are the same in each state. For example, turning right on a red light is legal here in California, but it might not have been allowed in the state where they came from. Where they came from, maybe they were allowed to use their phone while driving, but here in California, it is against the law.

Your loved one will need to register their vehicle within 20 days of establishing their California residency. In order to do this, they must have valid car insurance. They are also required to get a smog and emissions inspection for the vehicle.

A person can be cited and ticketed if a police officer discovers that they have been living here in California and driving around with their old license and registration. Even if the old license has a later expiration date, it is not valid here in California because they are now supposed to hold a California driver’s license. For more information on California relocation requirements, visit your local DMV or go to their website.

Page 1 of 51

Copyright © 2018 David Ortiz Bail Bonds. License # 1841120 | All Rights Reserved.

At David Ortiz Bail Bonds, we do everything to make your bail experience as hassle-free as possible. David Ortiz Bail Bonds offers complete bail-bonding services along with numerous benefits.